Uncategorized

  • Still Sick

    Yesterday, my boss told me to leave early because I looked so miserable at work.  My mysterious migraine/headache thing set in hardcore, and I was even feeling nauseated.  I told him I'd try to stick it out and I stayed until 5pm.  BAD MISTAKE.  By the time 5 rolled around, I couldn't get out of work fast enough.  I even took a plastic bag so that I would have it in case I yakked in my car.  During the whole drive, I thought I was gonna get in an accident because a person can't throw up AND drive at the same time, could they?  Well, I proved that it can be done.  I threw up while I was driving on the 101W during rush hour.  Yes, I was steering/manuevering/stopping/going whilst vomitting in a plastic bag.  I missed a little and got some on my shirt.  It really does suck as much as you would think it would.

    I felt better after I got home and took a long nap.  This morning the headache came back and I've been on top of my tylenol regimen and anything ginger related so that the nausea has no chance of coming back.  I hope I'll be able to make it to Harfest 2006.

    I did go to the doc yesterday and she recommended accupuncture to relieve the muscle tension in my back and neck.  I have an appt. scheduled for tomorrow.  Have you ever had accupuncture?  I'm sort of apprehensive but at this point, I'm willing to try anything.

  • Ok, so I'm not doing better

    I beat the flu about two weeks ago.  Then it was on to sinus pressure/allergies.  Now I'm having problems with the back of my neck.  I have knots in my neck muscles that are creating severe headaches, and I've been enduring this crap for a week.  Today at work it threatened to become a migraine and I felt sensitve to light and smell.  NOT COOL.  I finally broke down, took two tylenols, and called the doctor for an appt. on Monday.  I hope she tells me to go to a chiropractor or something and that it's not a brain tumor or spinal meningitis. 

    ---

    This week was my week to call in for jury duty.  I called every night and I was actually hoping to get called in.  It would've been a nice day off of work just sitting around the waiting area and wasting time whilst listening to music.  But no such luck.  I called in every night and the voice recording told me I did not have to come in and that my service to society had been fulfilled. 

  • I'm doing better

    I'm feeling a lot better.  In fact I was able to make it to work today.  Thanks for the "get well" gestures. 

    P.S.  Ryan, I was going to pay you in nickels if that's alright with you.

  • I feel terrible

    I'm sick and when you're really sick, taking sick days aren't fun at all.  In conclusion, I'm sick.

  • The Best Thing Ever

    Danny got me a Slingbox.  If you're not familiar with what that is, let me tell you about it's wonderful powers...  It picks up the signal from your Tivo/DVR so you can watch TV on your laptop, your computer at work, your cell phone...  anywhere you can get connected online (provided that your hardware is compatible).  You can also control the Tivo/DVR record/watch options remotely so no more "Crap, I forgot to Tivo that show."  I am a very happy girl.  Last night I did the dishes whilst watching TV in my kitchen.  I predict the dishes will get done more regularly and there will be more home cooked meals.  It's a win/win situation for me and Danny.

  • Has anyone seen the movie 3 Iron?  It's a Korean movie.  My Tivo recorded it off one of my movie channels.  I first saw it in Paris on one of their hotel cable channels... I think it had French subtitles, but it didn't matter since the actors spoke in Korean, and there is very little dialogue.  You should check it out if you get the chance.  It ain't mind blowing, but it's pretty good.

  • I should just retire now

    My 15 year old nephew was playing around on Danny's guitar and he played a few bars from More Than Words...  and my 19 year old Niece says, "I hate Frankie J."  I just about died of oldness. 

    If you don't get my post, don't talk to me.

  • Job

    Any one want to work at a stationery store full time or know anyone who might?  The job description is basically working the store... putting stuff out on display, pricing, helping with assembling invitations, gift wrapping, running the cash register, etc.  It's $13 an hour, but you gotta work Tues-Sat, 10-6pm.  The store is located near the Grove.  I can give you more details if you want.  We do get a lot of celebrities in our store. 

  • I went to go pick up my lunch today at a place across the street from my work.  On my walk back, a car honked at me a couple times.  I was tempted to look at who was honking but decided that if it was someone I knew, they would call out my name... otherwise, you know it's some perv who's directing unwanted attention my way.  Well, the car was waiting for the light to change and I had just finished crossing the street when the lady inside jumps out of her car and flags me down.  She runs over to me and hands me her business card and tells me enthusiastically that she saw me crossing the street and she just had to come over and introduce herself because "she saw so many things going on around me" and that I had to give her a call.  I look down at her card and realize she's a psychic. 

    I have to admit that I was curious about what she "saw" around me, but I figure it couldn't be too bad because she didn't tell me her spiel with some grave, ominous tone.  She actually sounded like she wanted to tell me lots of good news... like I'm going to win the lottery or that fame and fortune are just around the corner.  If I called her, she probably would have told me something like...  Your aunt... or friend, or someone close to you needs to tell you something important about something you did in the past... or will do in the future.  Then she would have billed me an obscene amount of money for that nugget of wisdom.  Which makes sense, because she was driving a fairly nice car. 

    ---

    Speaking of cars, Danny and I were driving behind a Ford Bronco last night and noticed that the license plate read "NOT OJ."  Danny sped up to try and get me in a good position to get a picture of the plate but my camera phone's capabilities pretty much suck at night.  Danny insisted that I try again so he kept tailgaiting really close and highbeaming the car to get me more light, which is a really bad idea since the guy in the car was big and black and didn't seem like he was in an accomodating mood.

  • This, that and stuff

    I guess it's been a really, really long time since I've been to Magic Mountain.  Danny and I went with some folks on Saturday and there were a whole slew of new rides I've never even heard of.  It was a perfect day to go and try them out because the weather was great and the lines were incredibly short.  Friggin awesome!  X was not open so that was a bummer.  Dejavu wasn't open either but I hear that's not really a big loss.  We did hit up a lot of rides though:

    1. Batman - still awesome
    2. Scream - surprisingly good
    3. Colossus - a classic
    4. Goliath -friggin awesome... that first drop is insane
    5. Viper - this used to be the biggest ride at Magic.  It's not that great now
    6. Tatsu - the actual ride is okay, the harness mechanism will freak you out
    7. Psyclone - rickety old thing is still a thriller
    8. Riddler - pretty cool still

    That's a pretty long list of rides to fit into a day that started at 11am and ended at 6pm.  Normally the wait time for each ride is at least an hour.  And of course we did the stuff that makes the Magic Mountain experience complete: churros, lemon ice, ride the Buchaneer, waste money on carnival games, spend way too much on lunch, and of course, the funnel cake!

    You all should hit up Magic soon.  I hear they're selling pieces of the park already and one day this big part of every Los Angelino teen's summer could be gone forever.  Sadness.